Home made chocolate syrup!!!

  

Today was my day to wander away from my weight loss diet consisting of veggies, chicken and fish and instead spurge!  🙂

First, I made up a fine breakfast of french toast using my home made bread. I slathered it in blue berry syrup I made from last years berry crop and a side helping of home made corn beef hash. Oh, I indulged in an excellent cup of Cuban coffee too!

Lunch was a love affair of mayo and thin sliced tomatoes between two slices of bread washed down with a glass of cold milk.

Dinner was the coup de gras! ( Why we use a french phrase meaning ‘blow of mercy’ or a ‘blow intended to end the suffering of a wounded creature’ to describe something great I’ll never know, but I digress. )

Earlier in the day I stopped at a meat market out in the Florida Prairie area. They have the worlds best grass fed beef! I ordered three pounds of meat labeled, “Philly cheese meat”.  While I’m not sure what part of the cow it comes from, I didn’t see any butt holes or eyeballs in it either.

I’d never purchased it before but I had a hankerin’ to try something new. It turned out I shoulda’ bought ten pounds not three! It had such incredible taste, no gristle, no large fat globs, just juicy, tender slices sauteed in real butter with onion and bell peppers.   Man, it was to die for! (OK, no puns about my food an’ dying or I’ll give you cause to eat your next meal through a straw!)

Now inside my freezer just waiting for this special day is a half gallon of natural vanilla bean, Blue Bunny ice cream! Another coup de gras!

I made up a nice bowl, (Large, since it would be another month before I saw any ice cream again) and went into the fridge for some chocolate syrup that’s been hanging around there since my sons Birthday party. I normally don’t use store bought anything that contains high fructose corn syrup. It shoots my blood sugar all to heck for days. Well, I looked at my bowl just settin’ there wantin’ to be gobbled up and the container of chocolate syrup with it’s yellow lid. I couldn’t do it!

I ran to my pantry, gathered up some ingredients, threw a sauce pan on the stove and made Gods gift to fine ice cream! Now it takes only about fifteen minutes to make it and an hour to cool down so it ain’t too bad holdin’ off a bit before diving into my dessert.

Now, you can make it my way or my Mama’s heritage recipe way. Mom made it without instant coffee. I add a half a teaspoon of instant coffee to give the ever so slightest coffee taste to it. I also differ from my Moms recipe in that I use Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa rather than the regular cocoa. Any cocoa will do. I just like the deeper taste of dark cocoa. I swear, once you make your own (it’s way too simple not to) you’ll toss out that ‘ol can of high fructose with the yellow lid. Try it, I ain’t lyin’ to ya’!!!

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

makes 2 1/2 cups

3/4 cup hot water

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar*

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I use dark for a richer taste)

1/2 teaspoon instant espresso coffee or just instant coffee (Coffee is optional but recommended, for richer taste I use espresso)

Pinch of kosher salt

1 Tablespoon light corn syrup**

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

In a medium saucepan, bring the water and sugars to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and whisk in the cocoa powder, espresso powder, salt, and corn syrup, whisking until all of the solids have dissolved.  Allow the mixture to simmer until it has slightly reduced and thickened whisking it frequently( 5-10 minutes.) The longer you cook it the thicker it becomes. At 10 minutes mine becomes like a hot chocolate fudge sundae syrup, at five minutes  more like a pourable chocolate syrup.

Remove from the heat and only then stir in the vanilla.

Let it cool down enough to put it into a jar with a lid. Refrigerate. If it becomes too thick in the fridge, just microwave it for a short time.

 

** Recipe for home made light corn syrup (simple syrup) but free of  High Fructose Corn Syrup.

Ingredients;

2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup water
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 pinch salt

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan.

Bring to a boil, stirring constantly to liquify sugar.

Reduce heat to a simmer and cover for 3 minutes. This will get any sugar crystals off the sides of the pan.

Uncover and simmer, stirring often, until it reaches the soft ball stage (230 degrees).

Cool and store in a glass  container at room temperature.

Makes about 2 cups.

 

Recipe for brown sugar;

1 cup of granulated sugar

1 Tablespoon of unsulphered molasses.

Blend together in a small bowl with a fork.

Store in a container with a tight lid.

 

16 comments on “Home made chocolate syrup!!!

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I am sitting here eatng a cheese sandwich and looking at your picture of a Sundae and thinking
    I would much rather be eating it LOLs…
    I had not made this kind of syrup…but I bet I will before the weekends out..!
    I have been looking for an olde fashion ice cream maker (the ones you turn not electric)
    I have been thinking about homemade ice crea..not I will have to get busy and find one LOLs
    Thanks CFS…! a great post!
    Take care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Nothing on earth compares to real home made ice cream…ice crystals and all 🙂

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        I Know!…and I just talked to my daughter we are going to 1st Monday in Weatherford to see if we can find an olde ice creme maker LOls
        Thanks for the recipe, she loved it !tooo!
        )0(

      • Have a blast! BTW I’m not fibbin’ about how great this syrup is!

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        I have no doubt what so ever ! thats why I need to make homemade ice cream..but then I can alway have BlueBell ice cream, it is the next to best of homemade!
        )0(

      • Mr. V. says:

        My great grandmother used to make her own ice cream. She only made vanilla, as that was really the only flavor she liked. Damn, but it was good. That was one of the highlights of summertime, great grand-ma’s ice cream. That, and her homemade pecan pralines, and her homemade pecan pie. The only thing I didn’t like was her homemade mincemeat pie, never got the taste for that.

      • She and I would have gotten along well. I prefer just vanilla but I love chocolate syrup over it too. The homemade beats the tar outa’ the store bought stuff.

  2. I can’t wait to try this!! 🙂

  3. Ingrid says:

    OMG…..just reading your post I was ready to head on down to FL and share in the festivities. Yum!

  4. tbnranch says:

    OMG, you are my hero! Two questions though… what is kosher salt and where do I find espresso? Dummy me… I know.

    • Not a dummy, just lacking info!
      Kosher salt can be bought at any grocery. It has a grainier texture and has about 1/2 of the sodium in it as table salt. If you have no kosher salt you can use table salt but cut the amount down by half.
      In the coffee isle look for the small jars of ‘instant coffee’. Among them you will find the ‘espresso’ style coffee. It has a richer taste than regular coffee. Either can be used, it’s a matter of taste. I just made a batch for my kids. OMG! Why on earth did I never make this before? It is soooo good!
      Let me know how it works out for you 🙂

  5. Mr. V. says:

    Definitely going to have to try my hand at this.

    I do have to ask, are there any other homemade syrups like this you’ve made? Say perhaps, butterscotch or caramel or anything?

Leave a Reply

