How Corn Syrup Makes America Fat

Note to readers: I re-blogged this post thinking it was giving credit to the original bloggers site but I see WordPress does not do that. So, to honor the creator of this informative and clearly understandable graphic post, here is their link. I encourage you take the time to visit it at;

http://xfirstaidkits.com/v/corn-syrup-infographic/

I was never a fan of High Fructose Corn syrup. In the mid 70’s it started to show in more and more products. It worried me because I did not believe for a minute that companies were replacing sugar with HFCS because it was healthier. Then in 1976 a friend in the AG products industry confided in me that he was being put in charge of a nationwide campaign to discredit sugar. The reason? So that HFCS could be introduced under the consumer radar. It worked, and the company he worked for is still making hundreds of millions in the production and sales of HFCS. Today, my friend is an advocate of organic foods and has a hobby farm in ohio where he grows his own food.

Bright, shiny objects!

View original post

21 comments on “How Corn Syrup Makes America Fat

  1. Ingrid says:

    Wow…..I already new some of this, but not all. Hubby always says, “it’s about the money” …. ain’t that the truth. This info makes me mad (since I’m a lady, I’ll refrain from voicing how I really feel and use the kind of language that would make a sailor blush)

    • The funny thing is, corn has the least nutritional value of most crops yet because of its yield, it the most abundant. There is a lot of money involved here.
      Watch this seasons crop of corn. Drought stressed corn is high in nitrites. There is a given maximum level of nitrate allowed in corn. This year it will be so high most will be deemed by the USDA as unfit for human and animal consumption due to the high nitrate values which causes nitrate toxicity. I wonder where they will use the crop besides ethanol fuel? HFCS?

      • Ingrid says:

        And the only folks using ethanol fuel are in Iowa (ok maybe Nebraska) where the subsidies make it worth while, which you and I are of course paying for. Scary what’s happening with our food supply.

      • I’m working on my post about local farmers markets vs chain grocery stores. I think you’ll find it interesting πŸ™‚

  2. It is always good to get news about how things really are. This was very informative.

  3. I’m very much looking forward to your post on the local farmers markets. I’ve felt better using them, though what if their fields are right off a decently used road? Then what’s in that soil? Gas, oil, transmission fluid…. Pulling back into a greenhouse where you can select the soil?…is that the best way?…

    • That is the very reason why one should by local. You can discover where the farm is and even visit it in person. A woman in West Virginia started a blog at; wvfarm2u.wordpress.com.
      Its all about buying local. You should visit her blog. She and I write each other often discussing farmers markets and the promoting of them.
      Wouldn’t it be great if we could grow everything in a perfect environment? But since we can’t grow everything in hot houses, the next best thing is to check out where our products come from. When you buy from a chain store, the only fact you can find is on the sticker placed on certain fruits and vegetables. First, the country of origin is on the sticker along with a set of numbers. These numbers let you know how the product is grown. A products number starting in 8 means it’s GMO while one starting in 9 means its organic. Conventionally grown starts with a 4.
      This is about as much info as you will get about what you are about to eat. Local growers are usually pretty happy to show you their farm. If you find the farm is near a well used highway then you can dismiss their product and go elsewhere. Much has to be a matter of common sense. Highways used to affect crops because of the leaded gas autos used to burn. That is really no longer an issue today. All food crops are susceptible to petroleum toxins even organic because farm machinery was used. Even the soil in hot houses is at one time or another dug up, screened , mulched and packaged by machines that use oils. Two big drawbacks to green houses are these; lack of direct sunlight needed for photosynthesis and lack of natural pollination by wind or insects. Both can effect the nutritional value of produce. Remember, the best way to insure what you are eating is healthy is; know where your food came from and second…wash it thoroughly! Joe πŸ™‚

      • Wow! Thanks Joe! I think it’s time to do a tour of local farms around here and see what I find. I’m going to check out your friend’s blog, in WV. There is so much to consider and take in.

      • It’s a whole new adventure!
        Are you north, east, west or in the south? Don’t fear, I won’t go asking for your address, I just want to know what kind of crops are indigenous to your area, that’s all.
        Check out; wildramp.wordpress.com
        It’s a farmers market in WV that grew out of just a herd of folks who wanted fresh locally grown food products. It’s going real well since they built and opened it.
        BTW… I got a kick out of your profile picture! Cute :)~

      • Thank you for the link! I am now following them! I’m sorry for the delay responding. Apparently I have some learning to do on where to see replies to a comment I’ve made…
        I’m in Charleston SC. People are actually kayaking through the streets of downtown today due to Isaac’s weather bands of rain!!
        Thank you, about the pic, it’s from my few days in NYC a couple of weeks ago. That was so much fun!

      • One of my favorite States! It is a beautiful area. No wonder you are such a good cook. I used to travel there somewhat frequently a few years back and loved the Calabash seafood buffets. I just realized how much I’ll miss that style of cooking …Whhhaaaa! I don’t want a salad, I want my stuffed crab and crawdads…Whhhaaa, whhaaa! (can you tell I haven’t eaten lunch yet and it’s 3:40pm!)
        You are getting the storm that nailed us here yesterday, be safe dear, stay inside πŸ™‚

      • Haha! We have a solution (i think) to crab and crawdads!! Lobster mushrooms. They apparently have the taste, texture and color of lobster, crab, shrimp. I went to order some online…but a little spendy. So I’m trying to wait to experiment with them in the Fall when they’re more prevalent!
        I hope you’ve gotten some lunch!

      • Have you ever heard of quorn? I was going to order some but then read reviews of it and it sounds really bad! The reviews said it’s a micro protein derived from a fungus which many people are allergic to. I had heard that the quorn chicken taste and looks like real chicken. I see there are pro and con groups each condemning each others research. 😦

      • Lol I have vaguely heard of quorn. I have seen creations using the lobster mushrooms and heard great reviews of them..if you ever come across them at a not hugely spendy establishment that ships..please let me know!

      • Heather…What a nice name πŸ™‚
        Anyway, about Quorn. I have decided to draw a line. I suppose food can be made from most anything nowadays but is it something my ancestors would have recognized… or for that matter would their GI tract have recognized it? I’m not even sold on eating so much soy based meals. I’ve also read some pretty bad stuff regarding the amount of oxalites and phytoestrogens contained in soy. Hmmm, so here’s what I think. There’s nothing so good as a baked potatoe with a homemade mushroom sauce on top of it πŸ™‚
        What I’m saying is, I want to eat what I recognize as food. I bake wonderful whole wheat bread, love rice and noodles and stuff with veggies in them. I just made a 3 bean chili that knocked my sox off! No need for Quorn I’m afraid. I have a bowl of almonds sitting in water waiting for the morning where I will blend them into milk. I recognize almonds too, they look like nuts LOL. I tried to read the label on my Silk almond milk and got a brain fart! Way too much stuff in there! So what I’m saying is, I am keeping my eating simple. If I can grow it or recognize it, I’ll eat it. My recipes will be adjusted and I bet they will turn out fantastic. I found mushrooms imitate steak so I made a portobello sub that was to die for. It tasted exactly like a philly cheeze steak and that’s what I want, simple good food that taste good and is nutritious without jumping through 15 hoola hoops trying to get it to taste like something else. Bye for now πŸ™‚ Joe

  4. Lilly Sue says:

    Good information! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

