Home made pancake syrup…and more

Home made syrup is delicious and High Fructose free!

Back in the old days we truly ate healthier and much less expensively. With the cost of food prices alone I’m dumbfounded when I go to the grocery store and see how much folks spend on prepared food. In my household (2) we spend less than $200 a month on all of our food needs! And let me tell you, I love food and am a finicky eater! Now, before I go any further let me tell you this. I rarely eat meat anymore. Why? Well first off, the stuff you get at the grocery isn’t worth eating! Second, I have protein issues so my intake has to be watched closely. Even soy in any quantity is a no no for me (thus the use of Almonds for milk instead of soy). But I can take protein in small amounts so I reserve it’s intake to such delicious  things as butter (when Olivio won’t do) and eggs for baking (unless applesauce can replace the egg).

Most everyone knows by now that today, the commercial sweetener industry has been sacrificing our health for their profits. No where else is this in greater evidence than in pancake syrup. Read the first ingredient… High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS)!

HFCS has now been proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that it is a dangerous replacement for sugar. Back in the 1970’s the corn sweetener  industry wanted approval for HFCS to be used in nearly any food product and with pressure from the corn growers associations, the Govt conceded to their wishes.  Serious concerns were voiced by the cane and beet sugar producers as to the safety of HFCS. The corn sweetener industry responded by supporting and placing phony research info in news articles, TV commercials, Govt health literature, every baby magazine and even movies. The theme was… sugar was bad for you.

The campaign was so effective that the sugar industry was sent financially reeling. By 1980, the corn sweetener industry had convinced the food processors how much cheaper HFCS was over sugar. Everybody jumped on board! But… you can jump off the HFCS  ship right in your own kitchen and save yourself from a myriad of organ problems and save a bunch of money too.

Start with your pancake syrup… by making your own from scratch.

If you’ve been paying any attention to my recipes, you’ll see I use light corn syrup in some of them. This is NOT  store bought I use but my own home made light corn syrup. Karo Syrup (Light corn syrup) is made with HFCS now. It never was before but it is now. Dark corn syrup has the exact same ingredients as my home made simple syrup but unsulphered molasses is added for a stronger taste.

I’m also going to let you in a  dirty secret… you can make your own brown sugar and ‘corn’ syrup for pennies. And yes, it’s the exact same stuff you spend big bucks for at the grocery store. In fact, I added up the cost for making 14 ounces of home made pancake syrup and discovered I spent about 30 cents!

Here’s a list of ingredients for the syrup and at the end I’ll give you the recipe for making real brown sugar* and HFCS free simple (corn) syrup**.

Ingredients for pancake syrup;

1 3/4 c. white sugar
1/4 c. brown sugar*
1 c. water

Combine and bring to a boil. ( 230 degrees)Cover and cook 3 minutes. Cool slightly. Add:

1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. maple flavoring

Stir and let cool. Your done!

When still warm pour into bottles or jars. I use glass, just run hot water over them first to prevent expansion shock.

Makes about 14 ounces.

*Brown sugar recipe;

for each cup of sugar use:

1 cup of sugar

1 Tablespoon of Molassas

Blend together using a small bowl and fork and place in plastic container with a tight sealing lid.

You’re done!

** Simple syrup (same thing as light corn syrup but HFCS free)

Ingredients;

2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup water
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 pinch salt
Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan.Bring to a boil, stirring constantly to liquify sugar.Reduce heat to a simmer and cover for 3 minutes. This will get any sugar crystals off the sides of the pan.

Uncover and simmer, stirring often, until it reaches the soft ball stage (230 degrees).

Cool and store in a glass  container at room temperature.

Makes about 2 cups.

9 comments on “Home made pancake syrup…and more

  1. Wow! I had no idea it was that easy! 🙂

  2. I think I can even pull tis recipe off! 🙂

    • campfireshadows says:

      I sure hope so or you’ll go hungry my friend! LOL
      Thanks for the comment and reading up on my attempt at teaching basic cooking. JW

  3. I have never thought of making my own maple syrup, and it makes so much sense!

  4. tbnranch says:

    Are you kidding me… it’s that easy? WOW, I think even I can do it! Thank you! I’ll tell you what I can’t do and maybe you can help me. Hashbrowns…. mine suck.

    • Make sure you have a candy thermometer on hand for the syrup. If you get it too hot it’ll be too thick, too cold and it will be too thin. It’s really easy though!
      Hash browns are difficult to do at home without a flat top stove (Restaurant style) unless you have a big frying pan, then it’s a lot easier. Hash browns need room and hot oil/grease to do well. I’ll email you my recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

