Easy and delicious homemade English Muffins

muffins

I can’t say enough about these. I love English Muffins and normally make my own.  (OK, the last time I had them I was lazy and knew I didn’t have time to make a batch of homemade by morning so I bought a famous name brand muffin from our supermarket) After I popped them out of the toaster, I thought they were smaller than they used to be so I measured a fresh one from the package…3 inches!  What? Muffins are supposed to be 3 1/2 inches! All muffin rings today are a standard 3 1/2 inches in diameter. This allows restaurants to place eggs (also 3 1/2 inches) into a muffin and make it look good. Anyway, the new muffins are smaller and more expensive.

So today I took the time to make my own again…oh were they delicious too! Much better than those thin shrunken ones from the store. I realized I have never put this recipe online on my blog so today I will. I use a 3 1/2 muffin ring to cut mine out but by the time I’m done man handling them, they get a bit cockeyed. (not identical).

These are so easy to make I bet you’ll rarely ever buy them again. Besides, with these you know exactly what ingredients go into them. Plus, all these in the photo cost me less than $1.00 (Oh, the photo is two short because I already ate two!)

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups lukewarm milk
  • 2 1/4 tsp (1 pkg) yeast
  • 3 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • Cornmeal for pans

Instructions

  1. Place milk in the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and sprinkle the yeast over top.
  2. Let sit for 10 minutes and then add the melted butter, salt, sugar, egg, and flour.
  3. Mix on low until the flour is incorporated and then switch to medium and beat for 5 minutes – dough will be very soft and slightly sticky. You should be able to form it into a ball without it sticking hard to your hands though.
  4. pull dough out and place into an oiled bowl and cover, letting rise for up to 2 hours or at minimum double the size.
  5. Place dough on a floured surface and using a rolling pin roll to a thickness of 3/8 to 1/2 of an inch. Using a muffin ring or a glass at least 3 1/2 inches in diameter cut out muffins as you would cookies. Each should weigh 2 oz.
  6. Carefully place muffins on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and freely covered with corn meal. Coat by spinning muffin then flip over and repeat on the other side. Use two cookie sheets if needed.
  7. Let rest for 20 minutes. I let mine rise in a warmed oven to increase the rise…NOT HOT!
  8. Turn on open griddle to medium (300 to 350) and cook until golden brown, Aprox 12 minutes on each side. (If they brown too quickly, reduce the heat.) Turn over and repeat on other side. (You can use a frying pan too.)
  9. Carefully transfer the next batch to the griddle so as not to deflate them and cook the same way the first batch was until done. Repeat until all are cooked.
  10. Let all of them cool completely on a rack before splitting open with a fork.
  11. Muffins will keep fresh on the counter a few days in a gallon sized zip lock bag and they freeze well.
10 comments on “Easy and delicious homemade English Muffins

  1. What a wonderful recipe! Comfort food at its finest in my book! 🙂 It would be fun to make my own English Muffins!

    • Mine turn out great every time! Once you get the recipe down, you can make these blindfolded. In fact, I’m so used to making them by memory that I had to search out the recipe in my binders in order to make sure I wrote it down correct for thew post. Let me know how they turned out. I use a Cuisinart griddle that opens up flat forming two cook tops. Good luck 🙂

  2. tbnranch says:

    Yum! They look wonderful. I know what you mean about packaged food getting smaller… everything is shrinking. Have you looked at a box of cereal lately? The box is just as tall but thinner… pretty soon the box will be the size of a book.

    • Ice cream is the worst! They keep shrinking the carton as if we’ll never notice. Don’t they realize I’d rather pay more for a full half gallon rather than be ‘duped’ into thinking the tiny carton is a real half gallon? Dumb!

  3. Veronica says:

    Mad these today! Came out great!

    • Good to hear that. I made some up a week ago and froze half of them. (I wrap them each in plastic wrap). For how little it cost, making your own breads and such sure saves a bundle! Thanks for your comment 🙂 JW

  4. Lizzy says:

    just made these! simply perfect recipe. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

